Sensations…

2 Apr

Another GSP release from Author of the Week: Rowan Shannigan  

Sensations by Rowan Shannigan

 

When Rebecca woke up in the hospital after her near death experience with the ability to see as well as hear things others didn’t, she thought the Ghosts and Demons were the worst thing she’d have to deal with. Little did she know they really were just the tip of the iceburg.

Now, she finds herself thrust into a world hidden within her own—a world that doesn’t want her. She isn’t good enough for the Elf King’s son, all because she’s human? And if that’s not bad enough, now she has to make a decision: Keep her new talents to herself, as she’s sworn to do, or help someone who desperately needs her.

Tough Decision . . .

Excerpt:

Prologue—Purgatory                                                                      Sam:

“I said no!” Becca stood in the center of the room, glaring at the Angel who had transported us to this beautiful place suddenly, and with no explanation. Honestly, I didn’t blame her. It was pretty wild. We had been pulled out of what I would only call a scary situation, and thrown into one that was just as spooky and intense. There was no way we were staying here! Seriously? I mean, people didn’t belong in the spiritual realm. Not when they were still alive. Did they? And where were our bodies? How long could a body survive without a soul connected to it? So, anyway, now here I was, standing in this room that looked as if it was part of a palace, with these long flowing robes, like what a person wears when they sing in a church choir, watching Becca spit and hiss like a cat at the Angel who had just informed her that we would be staying here until they had a course of action against the Demons who were trying to kill us. Shocking, right? But there was even more good news. Apparently, the demon who had taken over my body had been able to do so because of my Fae heritage. Who knew Faeries were more susceptible to demon possession when in the human realm if they were unprepared. Then, the Angel had even looked down his nose at me and criticized my mother for keeping me in the dark about my true identity. I was outraged! I had been so shocked and surprised that I hadn’t even been able to come up with a good comeback. Until after he left us. Then I had turned to Becca with my bewildered expression and done what any headstrong, angry teenaged Faerie would do. I puckered up like a baby and wailed for all I was worth. “How could she do this to me, Becca? My own mother hid my memories from me!” I sank to the floor, in shock and grief. “Who am I, anyway?” The thing that always made me believe Becca was a really good friend was the way she could just drop whatever worry or anger she might be feeling at the time to offer comfort to anyone who needed it. The girl seriously didn’t have a single mean bone in her body. I loved that about her. It made me proud to call her friend. Her fierce sense of determination was also something I admired; like now. She was standing toe to toe with an Angel, no less. And she wasn’t afraid. No, that wasn’t even the right word! What she was at that moment? Well, the best word I can come up with was furious! “You gave us no warning, Zeek! Not one!” she accused. “Not even a, oh, by the way, we may need to take you into protective custody for a while, or anything!” She threw her hands up in the air. “What are we supposed to do now? I mean, am I just taking a sabbatical from my life?” Her voice rose as the frustration grew. “I am a junior in high school, for heaven’s sake! I can’t just put that on hold!” Then her voice wavered. “What about Mom?” There it was. For the last, oh I don’t know, half hour, she had comforted me and encouraged me not to panic or be upset. Now, it was her turn. Tears filled her eyes, and I moved forward to try to comfort her. She held to me even as she continued to stare the beautiful Angel in the face. “What does she know? Does she know I’m here? Does she know I’m safe?” I hugged her tighter as she finally let herself cry over the entire mess we’d just unexpectedly found ourselves thrust into. Zeke, or whatever his name was, finally had the good grace to seem somewhat apologetic for what we were going through. He took a step closer to us and reached out to pat her shoulder. “This will not interfere with your human life, Becca. I promise, when this is over, we will set everything back as it should be.” He sighed. “But for now, I need you both to trust me.” She held to me for a moment longer, returning my hug before she let go and stepped back a little. “Where’s Darethmar? Where did you take him?” Zeke gave her a smile and I felt like someone was getting ready to tell a huge lie. “He’s a prince, with obligations to his people, Becca. He was taken back to his home. You’ll be seeing him soon, I promise. Now, maybe that wasn’t a lie, but it wasn’t the most upfront and honest response I’ve ever heard either. Then, as if his answer wasn’t enough to throw my hackles up, what he did next really irked the hell out of me. He offered us both a parting bow and promptly disappeared, leaving us alone in the middle of what seemed for all appearances to be a deserted palace. Becca groaned and moved to sit at the end of the bed on the far side of the room. She looked around with an exasperated expression before glancing at me. “If anyone had told me a year ago that I would be seeing ghosts, fighting demons and kidnapped by Angels, I would have told them they were nuts!” I nodded, crossing my arms over my chest and looking around us at the room we were in. “I hear that!” I gestured at myself, shaking my head slowly, “I mean, look at me! I never in a million years would have believed I was a Faerie if it wasn’t for these wings.” Even as I said it, I turned my head to glare at the appendages protruding out of my back. “I still don’t know if I really believe it. I keep trying to figure out how in the world I’m supposed to sleep with them!” Almost as though my words changed my reality, I suddenly felt completely exhausted. I felt like I had run a marathon, and then did a thousand jumping jacks. I don’t remember much after that. I only remembered feeling like if I didn’t find a way to lie down I’d just fall over in a heap. Just as well, I suppose. This isn’t my story tell anyway. Not really. I play a small part in it, but Becca is the only one who knows the entire tale.

Links: http://www.gypsyshadow.com/RowanShannigan.html#SensationsExc

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Sensations-Book-Two-Awakening-Awareness/dp/1619501627/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396461176&sr=8-1&keywords=sensations+rowan+shannigan

Leave a Reply

