Author of the Week – Dawn Colclasure…

21 Oct

Congratulations to GSP Author of the Week: Dawn Colclasure

Image

 

Dawn Colclasure is a writer who lives in Oregon. Her articles, essays, poems and short stories have appeared in several newspapers, anthologies, magazines and E-zines. She is the author of fourteen books, among them BURNING THE MIDNIGHT OIL: How We Survive as Writing Parents; 365 TIPS FOR WRITERS: Inspiration, Writing Prompts and Beat The Block Tips to Turbo Charge Your Creativity; Love is Like a Rainbow: Poems of Love and Devotion and the children’s book The Yellow Rose. She is co-author of the book Totally Scared: The Complete Book on Haunted Houses

Of herself she says:

I’ve been telling stories for as long as I can remember. I get that from my paternal grandmother; she was always telling stories. Coming from a family that was always moving from one place to another, telling stories and singing songs was a great way to pass the time. My youngest sister often asked me to tell her one of my own stories at bedtime. It was when I was around 11 years old that a nurse in a hospital saw me and thought to herself, ‘This girl’s a writer.’ She gave me a journal and encouraged me to write poetry in it. It was like a switch was turned on! I started writing poetry then moved on to essays, short stories and articles. I started writing book-length fiction when I was a teenager. The writing kept growing into other things and I’ve never stopped writing ever since. I will always be grateful to that nurse, Lavinia, for encouraging me to write my stories instead of telling them.

Please watch this week as three of her book will be posted complete, with excerpts and links.

One Response to “Author of the Week – Dawn Colclasure…”

  1. Dawn Colclasure October 28, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Thank you so much for featuring me, Anne! 🙂

Leave a Reply

