Craig Allen speaks out…

9 Mar

Straight from the pages of Through the Flames, Craig Allen, eldest son Robert Allen, speaks about his family and feelings. Robert being the professional star quarterback for the Marauders while Craig was growing up.

Image

AHP: Craig, thank you so much for agreeing to be be interviewed. I know you family has avoided the glare of the media at times in the past.

 

CA: You’re welcome. Glad to be here.

 

AHP: I know you family has been through more than their fair share of tragedy but you could tell us what is was like growing up with a famous Dad?

 

CA: Growing up with a famous dad, especially an NFL football player, kinda warps your perspective. I’ve never had to worry about money and some people treat me nice in hopes of getting in good with my dad. You definitely learn to act differently than your friends do. I tried really hard to do my best, be the best, make the best grades, I guess driven is a good word for it.

When I was a kid, I took my computer apart, went down and bought parts and built another one like it, but with some extra features. I won the state science fair in the fourth grade with that computer. They put me a year ahead in school and when I got to high school, I was offered a full four-year academic scholarship.

So, I was able to do something that set me apart, but didn’t create a life like my dad’s.

I saw the bruises and the aches and the pain and the heartache just as clearly as I saw the accolades, the achievements, the money and the joy.

 

AHP: Did you feel any pressure at school from your coaches or classmates expecting you to be like him?

 

CA: My coaches demanded a lot of me, but I’m not sure they demanded more of me than my dad and I did. I lettered in baseball, football and track all three years of high school. Dad was really overbearing when he was home; he was one of those dads that wanted to see his son playing on a winning team and being the most valuable player on that team. I was always thankful during the football season that he had his own games to worry about.

 

AHP: When your sister Sharon died you went through a particular bad time. I understand that the two of you were really close. Could you tell the readers how you felt? How did you cope?

 

CA: I was devastated. I felt like my whole world crashed down. I didn’t cope well at all. I guess I’d have to say I crawled in a bottle.

 

AHP: I believe your mother moved out of the house just after your sister’s death. Did you feel responsible for your brothers, being the eldest son? How did the change effect you?

 

CA: Those rumors get around, don’t they? No one has talked to me directly about it, but I know most everyone knows. On the other hand, I think a lot of people understand how my mom felt, although that doesn’t make it right for her to run from it and leave us at home.

I guess I pretty much just wasted any opportunity to being the one running the show by drinking the alcohol my mom brought me. That wasn’t right, either. I don’t have very good judgement when I’m drunk, so it ended up that Larry took over the checkbook and paying the bills and I kinda just moaned and groaned.

 

AHP: Your brother Larry, who was the star quarterback for his school, and your Dad, a pro football player, had some athletic injuries which prevented their playing football for a while. How did you see your role as a caregiver and what part was the most challenging?

 

CA: Interestingly enough, my brother and Dad being injured pulled me out of my slump. I hate thinking about being a caregiver, because my sister, Shari, died at home when I was taking care of her. I wore down and fell asleep and when I woke up, she was dead.

I’m not good at the caregiver role, so I guess that’s why I get forced into it. I don’t mind babying my mom and trying to help her through the rough spots, but I don’t want to be nursemaid to my brother or my dad. So in answer to your question, I guess the most challenging part is to take on that role at all.

 

AHP: Both your parents have had indiscretions. Did this change your opinion of love and marriage?

 

CA: I guess I never really thought much about the problems brought on by not being faithful and sticking to one person. The vows of marriage are sacred, but I guess I kind of thought that mean you vowed to stick with them through thick or thin.

I still don’t think much of marriage. I guess my opinion was formed early in the game, when I became aware of my dad’s limitless opportunities and really didn’t think about how his taking advantage of those opportunities could wreck his marriage.

 

AHP: Your brother Larry seems concerned that others see him as being a violent man. Knowing all sides of Larry, the footballer, brother, Christian, how would you describe him?

 

CA: He’ll make it through. I’m a boxer and I love exchanging blows and tossing people around. I love the dance and game of boxing, as well as the dance of the wide receiver on the football field. We hit each other, but hurting each other is not the point.

Larry’s girlfriend hates football because people smash into one another. She won’t even come to the games.

He plays one of the defenseless positions—quarterback. So he gets hit. And he knows how to hit, but that isn’t his job on the field when he plays that position. On the other hand, when he is at the center of the offense, he is in the middle of a very violent collision-filled game.

As quarterback, he expects the offensive line and the other players to do whatever it takes to protect him. So the violence surrounds him and he enjoys the game. He’s really not into hurting others, but he doesn’t walk away from a fight either.

If there’s a fight, I’d like to have him on my side, I’d consider him an asset.

Dang. I guess that’s a hard question for me to answer, Ms. Petzer. He’s my brother. He cares a great deal about other people and he tries to do right by others, whether they are involved in the churchy thing with him or not. I don’t know what else to say.

 

AHP: Craig again thank you so much sharing on my blog. All the best for you college studies.

 

CA: Thanks, Ms. Petzer.

For a further interview with his brother Larry, please go to:

http://networkedblogs.com/G46J8

About the author:

Image

Denise Bartlett began writing short stories when she was nine. Pen and paper gave way to word processors and typing, printing, reading and perfecting. A dreamer, she has always searched for deeper meaning and more vivid experiences in her everyday life. From hypnosis, training with mystics and spiritual people of many walks to tax preparation and gardening, her interests vary widely. The thread that runs through her life is imagination. Denise has written a variety of poetry, short stories and novelettes, as well as columns and articles on gardening and income taxes. Her website is http://www.silvervalkyre.com and her email is Denise@silvervalkyre.com/. She’d love to hear from you

Links:

http://www.gypsyshadow.com/Denise.html#TtF

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Through-Flames-Fire-Series-ebook/dp/B00AKGXGVE/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1362807822&sr=1-1&keywords=Through+the+Flames+Denise+Bartlett

6 Responses to “Craig Allen speaks out…”

  1. Denise Bartlett March 9, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Thanks for having Craig on your blog. I enjoy my characters so much, I’m glad you do, too.

    • annepetzer March 9, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

      You welcome Denise – really loved the story.

  2. chalaedra March 9, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Reblogged this on Chalaedra's Weblog and commented:
    Football, family, girlfriends, injuries—high school is the beginning of serious considerations for the future in a young man’s life. Through the Flames, Book Two in The Fire Series by Denise Bartlett. Available from Amazon, other fine eBook vendors and Gypsy Shadow Publishing at: http://www.gypsyshadow.com/Denise.html#TtFAdd your thoughts here… (optional)

  3. Sheila Deeth March 10, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    Nice to see the characters tell their own tales.

    • annepetzer March 10, 2013 at 7:20 am #

      Agree Shelia, provides more interest in the story I think and gives author a chance to work on the background of the book too.

  4. paper heavier grades March 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Thanks from Katesbridge 😉

Leave a Reply

