Texas Vampire Mini-Massacre….

22 Oct

Today we welcome Laney Stryker to the GSP Halloween Promo.

Laney Stryker is a pen name used by author Julie Kimbrell. Julie lives in Arkansas with her husband and two children. She loves to read but writing is her passion. Over the past two years, Julie’s been honored by having numerous titles both YA and Adult Romances published by various e-publishers.

Her book that we are featuring for today is Texas Vampire Mini-Massacre.

Cheyenne McAlister is a cancer survivor by day and vampire slayer by night (in her dreams). When she answers a peculiar employment ad in the paper, Cheyenne finds more than she bargained for. Not only is the ad a trap, but she meets Garrett Sims, who’s also checking on the ad. She finds herself intrigued by the boy, but ends up disappointed after a miscommunication. Can Cheyenne get past what she learned about Garrett? Will the two join forces and kick some Vampire butt?

Excerpt:

Though 8:30 a.m. doesn’t seem early to most people, it is for me. Normally, I sleep until noon, but yesterday Mom put the kibosh on that. “Cheyenne, it’s time you got up off your ass and stopped feeling sorry for yourself. You will get a job or else.”

That’s what she said to me. So, of course I wanted to make her happy, and I set my alarm for 8:00 a.m. With the newspaper in my hands and a steaming cup of coffee in front of me, I got busy. Unfortunately, the classifieds caught my eye first, so that’s where I started.

First thing, I found an announcement about Vampires that piqued my interest, but had to flip the paper over quickly at the sound of Mom’s voice. I scoured for the employment section, and found big circles already drawn around certain ads. Mom already scoped it out, which I should’ve expected.

“Cheyenne!” Mom’s voice rudely interrupted my thoughts. “Did you find the paper I left on the table for you?” Her footsteps clip-clopped down the hardwood stairs. “There were a ton of good jobs in there today. I’ve circled the ones I thought you might like.” She appeared in the kitchen and was hovering over me within seconds.

I’d already found the one that interested me in the Announcements, but I went along just to please her. “I’m reading through them all first, then I’ll make a few phone calls.” The unenthused tone must’ve given my mood away.

“Honey, I know you’d rather stay in the house and be a hermit forever, but it’s time you moved on. The cancer is gone, and you’re fine. Your beautiful hair’s finally grown out again, and you look vibrant and ready to take on the world.”

“Thanks.” I didn’t want to get into another discussion about my ridiculously low self-esteem and lack of interaction with people my age.

She kissed my cheek. “Gotta get to the hospital. I’ll see you tonight.”

“Bye.”

I waited until the door slammed and her car started before flipping over the paper and staring at that the big bold letters.

WE WANT YOU!
VAMPIRES ARE TAKING OVER THE TOWN
IF YOU WANT TO LIVE, JOIN US NOW!
INTERVIEWS MONDAY AT MIDNIGHT
WILL HEAVILY COMPENSATE VOLUNTEERS
No phone calls please
666 Dreary Lane

After reading the words over and over until I had them memorized, I contemplated exactly what the ad meant. Did someone have a vampire problem and need a hand getting rid of them? Maybe it meant the complete opposite, which would’ve been a good way for a vamp to lure some unsuspecting soul into his world then suck the life right out of them. I assumed the latter since the interview was at midnight.

I drained the coffee cup, then folded the page into fourths and tucked it in the front pocket of my baggy camouflage utility pants. Quickly, I brushed the dark, wavy hair that finally hit my shoulders after a full year of occasional trims, and pulled the auburn locks into a bun on top of my head. Running downstairs, I remembered my old but loyal car had no gas, just like my bank account had no money.

Book is available at: http://www.amazon.com/Texas-Vampire-Mini-Massacre-ebook/dp/B004UH1LE8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350927946&sr=8-1&keywords=texas+vampire+mini+massacre

3 Responses to “Texas Vampire Mini-Massacre….”

  1. Dawn Colclasure October 22, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Sounds awesome! Looking forward to reading it. 🙂

  2. Sheila Deeth October 22, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Cool! This sounds great fun. Very intriguing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Texas Vampire Mini-Massacre…. « Chalaedra's Weblog - October 22, 2012

    […] Texas Vampire Mini-Massacre….. […]

Leave a Reply

