From witches to love….

1 May

Image

Today being 1st May is a special day. Firstly in many countries around the world it is Workers Day. Then here in the Czech Republic it’s the day of love. Kind of like a Czech Valentine Day. Tradition dictates that you should kiss someone, or be kissed by someone under a cherry tree!

For me the most important part of this day is Zvonek’s birthday. My little fuzzball is seven today! While making him a special birthday breakfast of fresh poached fish I was thinking what a wonderful companion and friend he has been. I am sure many of us with pets can testify to their unconditional love and commitment to us. He certainly has given me so much more than I have given me. Happy Birthday Zvoni!

Witches? You may ask :).

Last night, 30/4, was Phillip and Jacob night. It comes from an old Celtic belief that on this night witches have more strength and are more active than on any other night of the year. As humans we should protect ourselves and how we do that is by making a fire. People often make effigies of witches and make a really big fire and burn them. A but distasteful to me though. The better part of this tradition is on the fires – most without any burning witch – you grill sausages and eat them.

A lot of parks and open spaces in Prague have music bands where one can go and make fires to ‘celebrate’ this night.

But I have a birthday boy meowing to be taken for a walk and today of all days how can I refuse? 🙂

Happy May Day to you all and here’s hoping you get that special kiss under a cherry tree.

6 Responses to “From witches to love….”

  1. Colin Acland May 1, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    All those fires must be a health and safety nightmare haha Joking apart sound a great tradition I’m off to find a cherry tree next Expect Zvonek was spoilt all day fresh poached fish for breakfast WOW

    • annepetzer May 1, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Hi Colin, he was spoilt all day-now stretched out on the bed ready to doze off. 🙂

  2. chalaedra May 1, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    A happy, happy birthday to Zvonek. Very interesting about your May Day celebration. Hope you and Zvoni have a wonderful day!

    • annepetzer May 1, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Thank you Charlotte, he was VERY spolit, even got a drinking fountain 🙂

      • spamslitterature May 19, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

        Very fun posts, Anne! I hope I didn’t miss wishing Zvoni happy birthday! Thanks for sharing the customs. I love reading about that kind of thing!

      • chalaedra September 22, 2012 at 1:06 am #

        Little late on replying to this . . . I really need for visit my blogs more often! What a fun time for him, then.

Leave a Reply

