An Affinity for Shadows….

14 Apr

Today it is my privilege to interview Liz Newman, an accomplished author and Mom. Thank you Liz for being featured today.
I have just finished reading your book, An Affinity for Shadows, which I enjoyed so much.

What inspired you to write tell this story?

LN: The story was a culmination of my love and fascination with the world of broadcast journalism as well as the underlying theme of the most influential romances of our lives. Carolyn Chase, broadcast journalist Kate Theodore’s mother says “There are two loves in a woman’s life: the one who breaks her heart and the one she spends the rest of her life with.” I really want readers to experience what it would be like for a modern day woman like the main character Kate Theodore to have relationships with the two men in her life who invoke the legendary characters of Ashley Wilkes and Rhett Butler from Gone With The Wind, against the backdrop of 9/11.

The main character, Kate, an award winning, ambitious broadcast journalist, has issues to work through, especially after the 911 attack on the twin towers in NYC. Is she modeled on anyone specific or purely from your imagination?

LN: She’s a bit like me. I’ve taken a few hard knocks in life and made some pretty bad decisions with the best of intentions.

Are any of the characters based on people you know?

LN: Very loosely based, but there certainly are characters who are icons of people who have inspired me.

Her experience during and after the 911 attack is very real and I think gives an insight into the emotions behind the attack missed by the media. Was this account written from your experience in Clinical Psychology?

LN: I used to counsel and advocate on behalf of survivors of trauma; specifically, patients with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder or what is commonly known as PTSD. The knowledge of how people process and overcome this disorder came through my experience as a Clinical Psychologist.

My favorite character is Sal, the dark brooding Italian with soft heart. Why did you choose Rome specifically and not another European city as a setting for your book?

LN: Rome is such an character within itself, a place wrapped up with such history, tragedy, and sensuality all in one. In Rome, the tragedies of the past and the beauty of the present moment are all thrust into the face of the casual observer, and it seems every statue, every landmark, every stone has a story to tell, and something that is dying to be uncovered.

As a writer myself, a point I am always curious about, is the naming of characters. It may sound silly but this is a point I agonize over. How did you choose the name for your characters?

LN: So far, I’ve been lucky so far in that the characters have chosen their own names. Must be the muse that sits on my desk. She’s a healthy version of Cruella DeVille. She smokes a carrot. Well, she actually chomps on it but she’s far too classy to be noisy with her chewing.

If you could write another genre what would it be and why?

LN: I’ve written contemporary, historical, and paranormal romance and I think if I had to deviate from the genre of romance I would write mainstream women’s fiction, but everything I write must have strong elements of romance in it. I just cannot imagine life or any story I would like to read without some element of romance.

A fun question. If An Affinity for Shadows was made into a film who would you like to play Kate and why? And of course who would play the dreamy Sal?

LN: Ooh, that is a fun one! I think Kate would be played by Angelina Jolie, since she has that really amazing range of acting required for someone with a dynamic personality such as Kate’s, as well as the exotic good looks that Kate possesses and like Jolie, is fairly unconscious of. Sal would be played by Olivier Martinez, who is best known as Diane Lane’s paramour in the movie Unfaithful. Only he could convince an audience that a woman would actually cheat on a man like Richard Gere.

Where can readers buy your book? I believe it is in printed and e-book forms.
LN: Readers in the UK can buy the print book and eBook at Amazon here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/An-Affinity-for-Shadows-ebook/dp/B005UPG8PG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318645639&sr=8-1

at the Gypsy Shadow Publishing website: http://www.gypsyshadow.com/LizRNewman.html#Affinity

Or at The Book Depository ON SALE with free shipping worldwide: http://www.gypsyshadow.com/LizRNewman.html#Affinity

Liz thank you so much for being part of my blog today. I do wish you all the best and loads of sales. An Affinity for Shadows is truly a good read with insight into real human emotions.

Thanks, Anne, for having me as a guest.

5 Responses to “An Affinity for Shadows….”

  1. Catherine Cavendish (@Cat_Cavendish) April 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Lovely interview. I can see why you would choose Olivier Martinez and Angelina Jolie, Liz. I’ve read and enjoyed ‘An Affinity for Shadows’ and I can see the resemblances!

    • lizrnewman April 17, 2012 at 6:22 am #

      Thanks Cat! I’m so glad you liked the book. Sending you love from the USA.

  2. Colin Acland April 15, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Another interesting interview I will have to get up to speed not heard of Olivier Martinez google to the rescue i think. Good luck to you both in your writing adventures

  3. lizrnewman April 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Please do come visit me at my website at http://www.lizrnewman.net. Thanks and looking forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

