Snow white’s story..

30 Mar

Image

Today is my privilege to welcome an author from former Yugoslavia. Snjezana survived the war to tell her story in which she conveys a message of peace. Peace is something the whole needs so much of. Today she is sharing with us about her book, the first volume of two, Born in Sarajevo. Over to Snjezana.

One of the most important things that inspired Born in Sarajevo is a desire to show to a reader that there is much more about Sarajevo than the civil war which happened between the years 1992-1996 in this capitol of Bosnia and Herzegovina. For example, in 1885, Sarajevo was the first city in Europe and the second city in the world, after San Francisco, to have a full-time electric tram network running through the city. In 1984 Sarajevo hosted the fourteen Winter Olympic Games. In 2011, Sarajevo became the first city outside the European Union to be nominated for the European Capital of Culture in 2014. Sarajevo also has a long history of integrating all major religions into its culture. In this city, I and many people I know, were brought up to respect and love diversity. With this book, I also wanted to show to a reader that us, people from Sarajevo, as well as people from some other parts of the former Yugoslavia are much more than war exiles. We love to read, we love to watch Shakespeare’s plays, and between “to be and not to be” those of us who got an opportunity to survive, are grateful to live. Born in Sarajevo is also my personal, an ordinary citizen’s story, about my broken family, war-torn relationships, and lost dreams. Most importantly, with this book I wanted to show to the reader how war can change such a beautiful city and have the influence on such beautifully minded people. My yearning for the more peaceful planet was my biggest inspiration for writing Born in Sarajevo.

 

The gunpowder flows through the air

There are friends sitting on a tank

And there are too few moments to realize

They are targeting someone they know,

Someone who will this last time

Try to wave, try to smile

I run, but in my heart I want to stay

Because this is still Home

 

The blood covers our street and I am afraid

To look around, I am ashamed to hope that

A bird was hit while she flew

Toward her nest to feed her young ones,

But all I can see is Sarajevo helpless, alone,

No matter how far I would go

I’ll remember this is my home

 

 

Sarajevo, March 1992

Image

When first barricades and first gun shots occurred in the capitol of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sarajevo, I was seventeen years old. It was the year 1992, and one of the worst mass killings in the history of mankind began. At that time, my family, my friends, my neighbors, and I were still unaware that we will lose all privileges related to peace. People of this country, which was called Yugoslavia, proudly holding the title of the biggest and the wealthiest Balkan country, started losing their freedom, their homes and their lives. I, as any other teen, knew about war only from movies and video games until my first encounter with those whose intention was not to act or play but to overpower, destroy and kill. 

Her book can be purchased at : http://www.gypsyshadow.com/SnjezanaMarinkovic.html#top

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BornInSarajevo

Website : http://www.snjezanamarinkovic.com

Book Trailer: Born in Sarajevo-book trailer.wmv

Thank you so much for being part of my blog. I wish you loads of sales of your book and peace.

6 Responses to “Snow white’s story..”

  1. Colin Acland March 30, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Thats certainly a book i would like to read. In UK just saw and heard what the media wanted us to. Hope the book goes well Snjezana and another interesting post Anne

    • annepetzer March 30, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      thank You Colin, am sure Snjezana would love you to read her book 🙂

  2. Lady Deidre March 30, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Powerful post! Very moving!
    God Bless both of you ladies!

    • annepetzer April 1, 2012 at 6:02 am #

      Thank you for commenting LD

  3. valacyclovir hcl April 6, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I needed to put you one bit of note in order to say thanks the moment again with your wonderful tips you have discussed on this page. This has been really pretty generous of you to present extensively just what some people could have offered as an e-book to end up making some bucks on their own, chiefly seeing that you might well have done it if you wanted. Those advice in addition acted to be a great way to be aware that other people online have the identical dreams just like my own to see lots more pertaining to this issue. I’m sure there are thousands of more pleasurable times in the future for many who see your blog.

  4. spamslitterature May 19, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Fascinating. I own this book. Now I must read it!

Leave a Reply

