Feline Fancy

8 Oct


Feline Fancy

I always get asked the question: ‘Why do you like cats so much?’ My answer is usually, ‘I don’t like cats, I LOVE cats! To be honest there is no direct answer to that question for me. Although it is a fair one if you know me.
My house is a shrine to cats. I have a collection of cats ornaments (ever growing), cat coasters, cat teapot and mugs, cat salt and pepper set, cat jewellery and cat decorated luggage! I read books about cats and I write about cats..LOL. If you looked at my web history guess what you would find? Of course web addresses for feline sites. And yes.. I have been called the crazy cat lady 🙂
So, why do I love cats? To be honest I don’t really know why but I can’t remember a time that I didn’t. If I believed in re-incarnation I would say that I was a cat in a previous life or lived in Egypt and took care of the Temple of Baset. They have just always been there for as long as I can remember.
In case you wondering, I do love animals generally and growing up in Africa we always had an assortments of pets. We even had a bush baby monkey at one stage, Jacko. A delightful little chap that belonged to my brother.
The surprising thing is that I never actually owned my cat till I got Zvonek. Well in my 20s I smuggled a cat, Ashton Windsor was his name, into our apartment at the time. He was lovely, similar in colour to Zvonek with a great personality and totally spoilt, of course. However, we were renting and keeping animals wasn’t really allowed so when I got caught out, Ashton had to leave. Although he went to a cousin, who had a huge house and garden it broke my heart and I cried for two weeks! Unfortunately he disappeared from the house and we never heard of him again. After that I ‘adopted’ my cousin’s cat, Mary Poppins.
Mary was a great Diva. She died last year at the grand old age of 19. One of my favourite tales of her is how she intimidated the family dog. Lantis, is a huge cross breed of something, am not good with dog breeds. But about 27 times bigger than Poppins. Being around before most of the other animals Poppins claimed the house and garden as hers! Lantis arrived as a playful puppy and of course wanted Poppins as a play mate. Poppins was not having that. A canine! Whatever next? She brought Lantis into line and right up until the end if she entered the garden he would run to the far end out her way and stay there till she went inside.
When Zvonek arrived at nine months I couldn’t believe he was all mine!. I used, still do actually, spend ages just watching him. For the first weeks he would only sleep on the sofa in the living room. I can still remember the pure joy of waking up one night and finding him asleep against my leg for the first time. Now it’s his nightly spot. He is more friendly than Metaxa. On visiting me, he is the one who will meet you at the door and welcome you inside.
A few years ago I broke both my wrists in a fall during winter. I got home from the hospital with plaster casts from my knuckles to elbow. Zvonek immediately took charge and for the first few nights wouldn’t even let Metaxa on the bed! For the entire six weeks he would smell the casts twice daily and lick the part over the wrists! How clever was that? He knows when I am upset and will be by my side. If I cry he tries to lick away my tears.
Metaxa is the hunter of the family, my little predator. She is her Mom’s girl. Not as friendly as Zvonek, but will come up and smell you to check you out :). She is a one person cat and that person happens to be me! She loves to curl on my lap. Although at night unless it’s really cold, she will sleep in her bed on the window sill. At around 4am she will come and cuddle in by me.
He favourite game is playing fetch with me. She has this really old tatty mouse that she adores. It went missing one night and she had me crawling all over the place till we found it.
They both are individuals and I have a close but different kind of relationship with each of them. I do try and bring their individual personalities out in the books so if you reading the series I do hope it will bring a smile to your face. :).
Now he who must be obeyed is meowing for attention so I will end off here. Next week: My relationship with Prague.

15 Responses to “Feline Fancy”

  1. Kitty Chrysalis October 9, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Hi Anne, we just found your blog! Nice story, I didn’t know Zvonek was your first cat! Cheers –
    Brad and Kitty

    • annepetzer October 9, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Yes the first cat that was ALL mine :)). thanks for visiting Brad and Kitty

  2. Charlotte Holley October 9, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Wonderful post! Isn’t it amazing how each cat has his/her own personality (purrsonality)? I’ve enjoyed interacting with dozens of cats in my life, each of them a complete individual with trademark quirks and characteristics.

    • annepetzer October 10, 2011 at 6:29 am #

      Thanks Charlotte – 🙂

  3. Colin Acland October 9, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Very interesting those cats are very lucky to have you as an owner Crazy nooooooo !! well only a bit

    • Denise Bartlett October 11, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      Hi Anne, I love the pictures and more info about these great kitties. Colin, she is indeed a crazy cat lady, but not too crazy! Maybe we should just call her a cat lady extraordinaire.

      • annepetzer October 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

        :)@Denise love that expression: cat lady extraordinaire – thank you

  4. Catherine Cavendish (@Cat_Cavendish) October 11, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    What a lovely blog. I am also a cat fanatic and am currently owned by Mimi – a 16 year old tortie who has been attempting to write her autobiography, using my keyboard, for years.

    • annepetzer October 11, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

      16 – a grand lady-she sounds lovely- thank Catherine 🙂

  5. Dawn Colclasure October 11, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I enjoyed reading about your feline friends. 🙂

    • annepetzer October 12, 2011 at 6:13 am #

      thanks Dawn-they are my treasure 🙂

  6. Sheila Deeth October 12, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Eight and a half weeks now till my Mum comes to visit. Then I’ll bring her (virtually) to visit your blog and your cats. Mum really loves cats.

    • annepetzer October 12, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      thanks Shelia that would be great. Looking forward to have you as a guest in a few weeks 🙂

  7. Sheila Deeth December 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Mum’s hooked. Wishes she could cuddle them.

    • annepetzer December 12, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      I’ll give them a cuddle for her 🙂

Leave a Reply

