A Tribute

4 Oct

Today I have the sad honour to pay tribute to a wonderful and outstanding woman. Sad? You may ask. I woke this morning to the news that a good friend of mine had suddenly passed away. Although Michelle and I had never met she was a trusted friend and confidante.

We were members of the same website, United Cats and later Facebook friends. Our friendship grew through emailing and sharing comments on our cats blogs.
This is indeed is the best side of the internet, making friends that make your life richer for having passed your way.

Michelle enriched United Cats by her stories of her cat, Sophie, and the antics of the kittens she regularly fostered. She also had an outstanding knowledge of cat care that she passed on to us. It was her advice that helped Metaxa on her way back to recovery.

One thing that I will always be grateful to Michelle for is her constant presence during a very difficult time in my life. Her presence, practical advice and follow up to check on me, helped me through a time of quite bad depression.
My deepest sympathy to her family and loved ones. Our loss is definitely heavens gain. We love you Michelle.
RIP MichyD

11 Responses to “A Tribute”

  1. Denise Bartlett October 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Hi Anne,
    My heart is full with longing to comfort you during this time. Just imagine the reception Michelle got when she crossed the Rainbow Bridge! A kitty chorus, a cacophony of courageous cats all calling their welcome. She’ll be purring cats for eternity!

    • annepetzer October 4, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Thank you Denise I do appreciate your words.

  2. Charlotte Holley October 4, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Oh, Anne. Sorry to hear about your friend. I know these things are very shocking and saddening. I hope there is someone to take care of her furry babies.

    • annepetzer October 5, 2011 at 6:05 am #

      Thank you Charlotte. Yes the cat has gone to a loving home. They a great family.

      • Charlotte Holley October 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

        Glad to hear it. Poor little animals as often so lost when their human dies. So many here get tossed out, thrown into an animal shelter or euthanized.

  3. Dawn Colclasure October 5, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I am so sorry about the loss of your friend. My condolences to you.

    • annepetzer October 5, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      Thank you Dawn.

  4. Lady Deidre October 8, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Lifting prayers for you. Dei

    • annepetzer October 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Thank you Dei

  5. Elizabeth Ann Scarborough (K.B Dundee) December 18, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    That was a lovely tribute to MichyD, Anne. She was such a special lady. I miss her all over again every time someone on UCats has a cat problem. I miss Sophie and Michelle playing with us when we start a new cat story.

    • annepetzer December 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks Ann yes I miss her too x

Leave a Reply

